Featured Photographer~ Sarah Joos

Gosh we can’t say enough about Sarah Joos and her work! She is so emotionally connected to her work that its shows in all her images. Sarah was the weekly winner of “Underneath” And she didn’t disappoint. Lets have a chat with Sarah!

unnamed (5)

 

1. When did you come to love Photography?

I have loved taking photos for as long as I can remember. School trips were always extra exciting because I could use my moms old camera. When I was studying I got my first good camera from my hubby. It was my way to vent after a long day at school. It’s been a really good year since I got my first DSLR and really started studying photography.

unnamed (6)

2. What Inspires you?

First and foremost my little one. He is the reason I really wanted to learn Photography. I’am also Inspired by anything..I love to take a long walk with my camera, not knowing what I want to photograph, and just be guided by what fills my frame.

unnamed

 

3. What keeps you going when you are in a rut?

Some people may hate me for this.. But I think I was made to create. I haven’t really been in a rut. I have the opposite problem. There is never enough time to create all that is floating around in my head. I do a few things though so I don’t forget my ideas and inspirations. I have an art journal where I write down and sketch my ideas. In that journal I also collect images from magazines that inspire me. Another thing I do is collect inspirational words. Whenever I want some inspiration I can look through them.

unnamed (1)

 

4. Why do you love the flaws in art?

Life isn’t always perfect, but it’s still beautiful. I think it’s the same with art. Those little flaws can add dimension that makes looking at the photo so intense. It also holds people’s attention longer, just some extra time you need to really look at a work of art.

unnamed (7)

 

5. Who’s your favorite photographer and what Inspired you about them?

A long time inspiration is Belgian photographer Emilie Vercruysse. She has the amazing talent to show childrens Soul’s through her photography. Her colorful styling and editing with just a touch of retro and magic really inspires me. more recently I have come to know an amazing group of women. A year ago we took our first photography course together and we became a tight group of friends. It’s amazing how much talent is in that group. This is a BIG shout out to all of them! They have pushed me to get where I’am now. There are so many other photographers that insprie me as well, Like Nicole Crane, Jeff Kroll, Summer Murdoc, Anka Zhuravleva, And Studio Edelwiess to name a few.

unnamed (9)

 

6. What are your goals for this up and coming year?

I’m working on a portfolio and hoping to have a consistent showcase of my work by the end of the year. I would love to work on my editing skills as well. After so many people asked me, I will also start taking on clients this coming spring.

unnamed (3)

 

7. What’s one piece of advice that you have received that you would like to share with other photographers?

Don’t be afraid to try new things. When you are taking digital photos, you have no risk at all when taking a photo. If it doesn’t work you don’t have to show it to anyone, but you can learn so much from it!

unnamed (2)

 

Thank you Sarah!! We sure enjoyed hearing your words and seeing your amazing work!

More from Sarah Joos:  Flickr~Facebook

 

Leave a comment